Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1,056 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What are the fields of study/subject/topic in which you consider yourself to be extremely knowledgeable?

I can't consider myself to have an in-depth knowledge of any particular subject. I believe I have a good knowledge about a very wide spectrum of subjects, but none enough to consider my knowledge enough to draw upon in say a debate with someone who has studied that subject in any official capacity. I wouldn't even say that I have a very in-depth knowledge of the subject that I'm currently studying.
I feel like a jack-of-all-trades, or the very model of a modern major general, but less so, and it makes me feel depressed.

So:

Do you also feel like there is no field in which you can consider yourself an expert? Do you think this is a common occurrence among INTPs? If you do have a field of study in which you consider ourself to be quite knowledgable, what is it? And, as a secondary question, what are the unusual fields of study/subjects/topics that you are interested in and have a relatively good knowledge of?

·
Banned
2,116 Posts
Dunno. I'd say stuff like poly sci, science and fine literature on occasion,but that's because those are the things I like to talk about most.

Reactions: Wolfrahm

·
Registered
423 Posts
Well, I've always had some trouble sustaining interest in a topic after discovering or figuring out all of its intricacies. However, I do have an extensive amount of knowledge regarding entomology and psychology.

·
Registered
2,860 Posts
Mathematics as it were, but I lost interest after failing to understand a particular passage in a particular book. At least, that was the beginning of the end; from there my confidence decayed leaving a sort of soil of ennui from which my later interests grew.