Personality Cafe banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
407 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
An enneagram teacher once told me that of all types, 4s have some of the worst difficulties being disciplined. This is totally true for me. I am a student and on a summer break, where I had various research activities planned for myself. Yesterday I realised it's been a month and I've done much less than what I should have. The month just passed by.

Interestingly, I did not just waste away my time. I was always reading, studying something, but not studying what I was supposed to be studying! Something in my broad area (psychology) caught my attention and I followed it for hours passionately, reading and absorbing all I could. Then something else came up. So I have about 10 unfinished books lying with me, all of which I've been alternating between. And behind them is my original research project!

I'm a 4w5 (or so I think), so that explains the intellectual curiosity. But I'm more concerned about this alteration between being keen and passionate about one thing but not having the self control / rigour / discipline to work on it right till the end, and moving on to other things. Only if I have a strict supervisor on my head all the time can I feel productive.

What do other 4s here think? Are you having problems with discipline and productivity? What do you do about it?

·
Registered
2,809 Posts
Yes particularly monotony. I change, because if I don't, I dread what I do and in the end quit. It is not the most healthy way though. Makes me a jack of all trades but a master of none. The only thing thus far that has helped me career-wise, was working with people. If I am working WITH people and not FOR people, every day seems a little different, I am able to use my abilities, creativity, individuality to help others. So seeking out meaningful work, or things that are feeling-motivated has helped me this far.

·
Banned
2,871 Posts