Personality Cafe banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2,775 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Now that I’m in my final semester of my bachelor’s degree I just have to warn anyone about the decisions they’re about to make getting into a degree. Certain degrees are just not useful, meaning they lead to consequences that many don’t want to experience objectively, such as a lack of a job, or the lack of a job with a good income.

For more elaboration, here’s the list:

Commerce/Business/Marketing - if you wanted to do well in business, you should have just started one and tested certain ideas out. The certificate will get you a business assistant job, you have to work your way up or start from scratch (either is not easy). You don’t even need a diploma to do well in Marketing or any business related field.

Science, Psychological Science, Biomedical Science : easy to get into , but according to the certificate you get, you basically learn a lot of nonsense, other than a few useful topics, say in statistics, and become a research assistant . You could have done the same with a diploma in any related field here (e.g. a Science diploma)

Physics/Mathematics/Economics - not useful for any position, except mere knowledge . Unless it’s at the university, get ready to become a business or university assistant as well .

Arts (Performance, Visual Arts, Music, Film, etc) - Can help get a job at a radio station or media job in photography job or as a model, but you could have gotten those jobs even without the training and learned the same amount actually working the job, than you did at university. This is the lowest class of degree in terms of how you will be recognised by employers after university, unless you get it from a top school , then it’s a little bit impressive, but doesn’t affect your job. Most likely you will be unemployed for months after graduation because it was all fun but led to very little jobs and is not in demand at all.