Personality Cafe banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
202 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Um..we don't really have a finance forums, so I though this was probably the best place to put this.

I've been saving up money all my life. At 16, I'm prepared to finally start investing that hard earned money. But...I have no idea what I should invest into. I'm not here to get a hail marry plea from you all, but I want some of your honest opinions on what would be a good idea to invest in. I have very little knowledge with stocks, and am not very comfortable with investing myself yet. I'm currently thinking mutual funds and/or fortex investing at the moment.

Also going to see a broker with my parents so I can get some stuff straight.

Any suggestions on what I should do?

·
Registered
92 Posts
Nah, blow it on a big party for all your friends! Stay out of fortex but mutual funds are fine. You have plenty of time to recoup any losses you incur so be aggressive. Check out morningstar.com for highly rated no-load or low-load funds. Index funds are great too. If you MUST invest in individual stocks, I like railroad companies. One, high barriers to entry. Two, whatever the next big thing is, chances are it will get to market via the railroads. Three, Warren Buffet invested billions in BNSF. Good luck. P.S. brokers are evil!

·
Registered
2,077 Posts
Just an answer...