Personality Cafe banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Banned
166 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm in my second year of college, yet i dropped out of high school and got my G.E.D would you look down on me due to this or accept me as an equal?

·
The Doer King
13,681 Posts
I'm in my second year of college, yet i dropped out of high school and got my G.E.D would you look down on me due to this or accept me as an equal?
GED doesn't say anything about your brain. You made a choice for whatever reason to leave school. You would only be seen as my equal (if we are talking intelligence) if you could hold your weight in a conversation. School doesn't make people smart it just makes you less ignorant.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Success is not always spelled the same way

A high school diploma is perfered but a GED is "Good Enough". No one can fault you for obtaining a GED. It does not matter why you choose to or felt you had to drop out of high school. What truly matters is that you saw the need for higher education and made the necessary moves to acheive your goal. In the end with hard work you will obtain the same degree that most of your peers will have. You could have easily settled for "drop out" status and began a long life defrauding the government for food and money. I'm not saying that all people receiving government assistance are defrauding the government, nor am I labeling high school drop outs. What I really want to do is applaud your decision and encourage you to reach out to others that have dropped out and encourage them. Education is not for everyone, but it is important to obtain viable skills to earn a suitable income to sustain life on your own without your electric bill being in your dead granmothers name. Good Job and Good Luck!

·
Registered
413 Posts