Personality Cafe banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm finally moving from my parent's house and I think it's great! I've always wanted to live by my own, have all the freedoom I need and it's a plus I'm going to a city I love.
I can't afford living alone so I'll share a flat. I haven't met my future flatmates yet and I'll move in the beginning of September. I just know they are older than me, a couple and a boy, all of them work while I'm a student. Ah, and there was still a empty room when I choose mine so maybe there's anyone else.

I like the idea but I'm not sure I will know how to start a conversation with them... I want to get along, not to be always in my room. But I'm not that good at small talk, and I guess I will need at least in the beginning. I usually I'm more open and social with strangers... when I don't know that I'll see them again or when they're are my friends's friends. But now it's a different story because I want to give a nice, but truthful, impression, because I will be with them all the year long, and I don't know what I could have in common with them.

When I was in the living room I saw a poster of the 'Control' movie, so I've thought about saying something about that and maybe starting talking about music and so on. But I'm still a bit lost and anxious.

I would appreciate any tips about small talk, any stories and experiencies about flatmates or something you want to say.

·
Registered
431 Posts
Have a good sense of humor... ask them lots of questions, assuming you'll be naturally interested in their lives anyway.

·
Registered
1,786 Posts
I moved out at 19 and was a complete introvert then but I moved in with friends so they understood. I spent most of my time in my room.

My tips are these. If you have shared space, have no presence in that space. Wash plates immediately, keep your stuff in your room. I found this reduces the friction with day-to-day living.