Personality Cafe banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,835 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I graduated 2 yrs ago and am unemployed and looking for work. I've been looking only within my city, but I am throwing around the idea of looking elsewhere. I've never lived outside of my state though and other than school I've never moved before.

I'm not a huge fan of change and I worry about how well I will do in meeting new people in a new city. With that said, I need a job. I am hungry for a job and I think I have a decent resume.

So if you have moved before (for whatever reason work/spouse/etc), how did that go for you? How did you adjust? Do you still live there or did you move again or move back? Was it harder or easier than you thought it would be?

Any responses are appreciated, thanks.

·
Registered
712 Posts
Not including university, I've relocated twice in my life. The first time, I moved in with my boyfriend (only 3 and a half months after I first met him), who lived 40 miles away from my hometown, because I was offered a job in his city. It was a good job at the university, which was a great place to work if you want to meet people - with all those staff, mature students and postdocs. Even so, it took some time to meet new people - my boyfriend had only a couple of very good friends and we lived out in the sticks for the first 2 years. When we moved closer to the city and I met more people through my work, my social circle picked up quite quickly. It was overall a good thing to do because I was ready to leave my hometown friends at that point and explore new horizons and make different friends. If I hadn't have met my boyfriend when I did, I had planned to move to Australia and New Zealand for a year or two, so I would have relocated anyway.