Personality Cafe banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
930 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am having trouble finding a job. I need a job that is meaningful -- something that I am passionate about -- something that I can go to work everyday and know that I am making the world a better place. The best job I ever had was in college where I worked as a literacy tutor, teaching struggling urban youth how to read. It was minimum wage and the most rewarding thing ever. Now that I have discovered what my purpose is in life, I can't force myself to take a job I don't love. But I desperately need money. I have tried going on interviews to places like grocery stores, restaurants, etc. and they all turned me down. I am sure they can sense that I don't really want the job. I just wish it were easier to do what I love and make a ton of money doing it!

·
SAY MY NAME
INTJ
8,476 Posts
I can understand how you feel, I've had like two weeks of work since 2013. It's an ugly situation. Especially because it's just sickening to search for jobs, ad after ad after ad of utterly unappealing and tedious shit. The turf with your friends is the place to be, not stuck doing some pointless, unfulfilling job. I want work, as in something constructive, something I can develop.

·
Registered
501 Posts
I just posted about this in the venting tread! It is annoying not to have a job, but I try to remain positive... I virtually try anything to work anywhere - but I also get turned down a lot, even for jobs that are really below my standards or my education level. I get that indeed employers sense that you do not really want these jobs.

As for now I try to 'get in' in creative ways. I have set up my own company in coaching and training with my ENFP friend - for now this does not deliver me any work YET, but I am positive that, as I put more and more effort in it by networking, marketing and finding suitable clients, this will be profitable.