Personality Cafe banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Banned
780 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I graduated almost 3 and a half years ago with a sociology degree and have been bouncing around since so I am returning to school. I want some advice from fellow 4's as to what would be more suited for me to pursue. I have been accepted to a pretty excellent art school that is ranked well in the country for product design. I also am considering going to get my Masters in counseling psychology because, after all, supposedly 4's are good at that stuff. I met with an advisor and talked about the program (Without anybody forcing me to just do it! proud). Anyways, with all my idealizing aside, what do you think would be smarter to pursue? My fantasy side is telling me that I will get the product design degree and work somewhere amazing designing bikes or furniture in sweden, so I have to ignore that and be realistic. Also, pursuing the masters has me struggling as I tear up when I am watching the news and something comes on that hits me, so I am worried I might not be able to handle it. What are your thoughts my lovely bunch of 4s?

·
Banned
956 Posts
If you believe that one side is a fantasy side, well then I'd start from there and weigh both options realistically in a way that you would most believe would satisfy you. This satisfaction has many parts as many different things adequately satisfies a person (money vs passion, etc.) A part of me wants to tell you to go with your gut and be open to every opportunity that comes with it. But I'm not sure either. Maybe try to think of it in terms of what most likely will happen instead of what could happen. Or both. I'm having difficulties myself, fluctuating between exploring my passions and going to school for psychology, the practical choice. So I'm on the same boat as you. I hope you get some better, more helpful responses.

·
Registered
2 Posts