Personality Cafe banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I am a 3rd year psychology student and have just started the module on Individual Differences covering personality. I have been fascinated by personality for a while, ever since my first encounter with MBTI. However, I was surprised to find that in my text-books nothing is said about MBTI or Enneagram. I am a type 5w4 INFP and believe that the descriptions given for these types do capture the main elements of my base personality. One of the main assessments for this module is to “Write an individual report on a group-based empirical research study investigating the relationship between self-rated intelligence and personality (as assessed via a questionnaire designed by your group)” In my quest to design the most bad-ass accurate and universal personality test I would like to enlist the help of my Personality Café community.

There are a number of themes that I would like to explore in this thread:

1. Why MBTI and Enneagram are so popular online but are missing from the text-books.

2. The books instead discuss several others (the ancient Greek humoral theory; Allport’s search for personality traits; Cattell’s sixteen personality factors; Eysenck’s three factors; the five-factor model and the ‘Big Five’. According to the course textbook, the five-factor model is regarded by most personality psychologists as the most robust. Why is this, what does it cover that are missing from MBTI and/or Enneagram?

The ‘Big Five’ traits are:
a. Open to new experiences
b. Conscientiousness
c. Extraverted
d. Agreeable
e. Nervousness

The five-factor (NEO-PI) traits are:
a. Neuroticism
b. Extraversion
c. Openness
d. Agreeableness
e. Conscientiousness