Personality Cafe banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
313 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, it's my first time to post in this thread. :)

My roommate is an ISFJ who has been in a relationship for almost 3 years now. Initially, she said, the guy has been more forward and demonstrative of his love for her, while she was more passive. They are in a long-distance relationship and the guy is usually the one who initiates conversations and tries to draw her out. Two years into their relationship, the guy asked her to open up to him fully because according to him, their relationship can't work out if she remains private to him. And so she did.

Now, the guy has changed and I think he's taking her for granted. He didn't even give her a gift for her birthday, he doesn't call when he says he will, etc. She also found that the guy has been lying to her about his conversations with another girl (who is probably flirting with him). They have been fighting almost every week for the past 4 months and she has told me that, although she can't trust him, she wants it to work with him because he's her soulmate.

But I have been so tired of seeing her yell at him on the phone, cry and pound at things when they fight. I truly believe she is better off without him and deserves better, and though I have said that, she doesn't listen.

I really admire the fact that she will do anything to make their relationship work, but is there anything I can do as her friend to help her, especially when they get into these situations? How do I support her at this time?

Reactions: Nickel

·
Registered
4,550 Posts