Personality Cafe banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
7,896 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
@irregularpopcorn

No problem, you asked, you didn't 'dictate' that I help. :)

I recommend an excellent book that deals with how we use or fail to incorporate our inferior functions--and what that may look like: Was That Really Me? by Naomi L. Quenk as well as The Complete Enneagram: 27 Paths to Greater Self-Knowledge by Beatrice Chestnut for you to get from the library or buy if you can't get it that way. (I recognized my dominant enneagram immediately from reading Chestnut's book; I am now studying Quenk's book for focusing on the inferior and looking into the shadow functions.)

Now, for 6 vs 9:

Imagine you, or someone you know well enough, is asked to go to a restaurant, and the host says, "How about this great vegetarian restaurant I discovered?"

The 6--unless he or she is sensitive to a lot of vegetables, e.g. they cause gas; or the person is getting over being ill and feels he or she needs some meat, will say, OK--assuming the person is not neurotic or has some kind of mental disorder that would make him or her say, "No!"

Now imagine the 9 in the same situation, and the person has a strong reason to prefer not going to a vegetarian restaurant (you can switch the situation to a meat-n-potato place instead of vegetarian, or some other situation you can relate to), and the 9 is more likely to say, "Sure, no problem," but inside he or she will be seething.