Personality Cafe banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
241 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
my mother is an ESTP and i am an INFP. we do not get along and i know i still love her and i know she still loves me. we just dont know how to show it and it usually ends up with violence. i know that for me, people expressing theyre love to me thru words and gifts work best for me... how can i show my love for my mom???

·
Registered
531 Posts
I think it is very mature of you to ask this question. Good for you for taking the initiative on your relationship with your Mom. My 15 year old daughter is ENFP, her dreamy and laxidasical ways can drive me crazy sometimes. Though she means the world to me.

Unfortunately I am not good at showing my love through words though I've trained myself, especially with my kids. Mainly because words don't mean a thing if you don't show your love.
I am much better at showing my love through my loyalty, service and respect. It's important to me that my kids respect me and don't talk back or disregard my efforts. Gushy hugs, although I love them from my kids, don't mean much if they take an attitude when I ask them to do something. Nice words don't mean much if actions don't back it up.
Also, if someone has hurt my trust....a simple "I'm sorry" may not suffice until they've gained that trust back and show that they are trying. I think if my kids have self respect and respect for others in the family, I feel that I've done right, therefore more loved and happy.

Maybe find something she likes to do and share the experience with her. We like to stay busy.

·
Registered
531 Posts
thank you so much!! im trying really hard to hold my family together and you have helped me a lot:):)
You look very young. It's not a child's job to hold a family together. It's the grown up's job. Is there a reason you are trying to "hold your family together?"
When you say your relationship ends in violence, what does this mean?
I'm a nosy ESTP :wink:

·
Registered