Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been browsing this forum looking for some inspiration for my college career. Currently I am a sophomore majoring in Mechanical Engineering, and I feel like a zombie going through my classes and homework. I have no inspiration here besides the fact that I'm paying to take these courses, so I'd better get it done. I suppose I choice Engineering for the hell of it, cause what else is there?

As an ISTP I feel I have a hard time keeping interest with something for 4 years, especially in an academic setting. I hate school and homework, I'd rather be doing actual work (in summers I worked at a resort fixing and maintaining things, and I loved it cause there's always always something different to put back together every day.) This is probably because of our indecisiveness.

I feel like two people on the forums already summed up my situation perfectly
Whatever you study in college, it's traditional for ISTPs to end up doing something completely unrelated.

Typical ISTP career path: try something for the hell of it, get bored after 1-2 years, quit. Repeat as required until you figure out what you'd rather be doing. Notice that you can make more money doing what you enjoy than you ever did by slaving away in a real job. Feel smug.
If you're an ISTP, you'll probably want to do EVERY career. You'll probably hate school, you'll want to work in a physical environment. You'll probably have everyone telling you how to be successful in life, and you'll always wonder why their advice just makes you feel worse when you follow it.

ISTP's are too awesome to live by everyone else's standards. We were born with the gift of enjoying the jobs that even bums can enjoy. Any kind of instructing job, teacher, etc. I think those are the easiest to think about. Any kind of crisis job: firefighter, paramedic, rescue diver, something like that.