Personality Cafe banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
205 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am in a pretty tough time in my life. Not that it is any thing serious, but it has been a year since I graduated, I can't find a job, had to move back home, and generally feel like a huge failure. I have been really successful in my life before this "bad year," but I find myself getting very down-in-the-dumps because of my circumstance. On top of the failing feeling, being in school my whole life has made an instant community, that community is now completely gone. So i feel very unaccomplished as far as success goes, but also as far as my relationships go, since I am not in a community of people.

Has any experienced a rough "welcome-to- the-real- world" year after college and how did you deal with it?

·
Registered
369 Posts
ive been there exactly. when i graduated i moved back home and started the job hunt. It took a complete year before i finally landed an unpaid internship in Cali. So i moved out there and worked with no pay for 4 months, then waited another 2 months for a job opening that never came. I finally moved out to another state and started working for a friend i knew from college. We're basically building our own company from the basement (literally). And to be honest i like it this way. Doing things my way and on my terms. I feel like i'm carving my own path through life instead of being forced down one. I guess the moral of the story is play to your strengths. I know people from coast to coast and that has been a big help networking wise.

Reactions: Nidenel

·
Registered
15 Posts