Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1,869 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm curious about this -- my INTJ friends and I were talking about this recently and almost all the INTJs involved in this conversation disagreed with the idea of tipping. So I was curious on hearing INFJ views on this now.

For me, I always leave tips (using that 10-15-20% guideline) because my family always reinforced leaving good tips, but at the same time, it's just become one of those social niceties I do neutrally. On the other hand, I know some people who sometimes dont leave tips at a restaurant, and a part of me doesn't mind because I see their reasons (we paid for an overpriced meal, we paid for gratuity, the waiters/waitresses's job is to wait/serve anyway, i'm a student) and another part of me thinks "but we have to" because that's how I was raised, and these are the norms I've been indoctrinated with. Personally, I prefer (and enjoy) tipping in situations where tips are encouraged and invited on a voluntary basis, but these days I feel that tips are becoming more of an obligation on the part of everyone (especially at restaurants) and for me, this takes out the personal, kind gesture in tipping.

So yeah... I'm interested in hearing different aspects about the idea of tipping, reasons for it, reasons against it. In the past, I've seen that this can be a sensitive topic, so it'd be constructive if the discussion could focus on reasons for it, reasons against it, rather than criticizing those who don't or those who do.

·
Registered
180 Posts