Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have insane amounts of reading that I need to get through for my classes this week, and there is no getting me to focus for more than 15 minutes at a time. I keep getting distracted (especially if the reading is online... then I leave to "google something real quick" and never come back). What helps you focus?!

:crazy:

·
Registered
ENFP-A
2,225 Posts
I'm a veteran ENFP warrior who spent 6 years fighting the Dragons of the modern post-secondary education system.

When it came to exams and hardcore studying I ALWAYS created myself a reward for the end of the day, after a long day of studying. Usually I'd stock the fridge with some cool micro-brews I never tasted, and would allow myself one + watching a movie (films being my ultimate passion).

Usually after exam time there's a break in school right? I'd promise myself a big reward then.

Eventually all things will pass, remember that. To me school wasn't usually a joy, but a necessary evil. I don't want to sit at a desk, shoulders forward, set-times, listen up, paper/midterm/final. But school is a ticket that SHOULD allow you to DO. To DO whatever it is your passion is. So to me, I kept that as the penultimate goal, above all.

·
Registered
770 Posts
Do just enough to barely get As in the classes you loathe and pour your energy into the classes that captivate your mind. I wish someone had told me that sooner lol. Perfectionism is death for our type, so don't try to do everything just right, and don't be hard on yourself for doing some things kind of half assed. Also, prioritize sleep because you'll be so much more productive and focused with the time you have if your brain is not foggy.