Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Banned
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
This is my first post :D

I apologize if something similar was posted before.

Here is my scenario:

I was at the doctor on Wednesday for travel vaccinations. My doctor was asking me about my major in college and my future plans. She also asked why I was traveling overseas.

I told her I studied international relations and human rights. Additionally, I mentioned that I would like to study human rights law.

She seemed shocked and said... and I quote, "but you seem so meek."

:rolleyes:

Being an INFJ, I know how deep my emotions run. I know how passionate and opinionated I am.
Usually it doesn't bother me that people don't understand me. It usually doesn't bother me that people think I'm passive or indifferent. Because I know I am not. However, I've never been called meek before. It really irked me.

:angry:

Anyone wish to discuss?

I hope I am not the only INFJ this has happened to.

*Edit: She used meek in a way that means "overly submissive or compliant; spiritless; tame," as quoted from dictionary.com. It wasn't misunderstanding. Her tone gave it away. haha!

·
Registered
1,258 Posts
Similar situations have happened to me. I don't think its an INFJ thing. I think it applies to nearly all introverts. For some reason, people don't think we can stand up for ourselves or speak our mind. :dry:

Edit: Just because I have manners and the decency to hold my tongue to spare your feelings and refrain from insulting you, doesn't mean I am unwilling to do so. (This may be more of an IxTx thing though. I don't know.)

·
Registered
10,350 Posts
'Meek' isn't exactly an insult, but I suppose INFJs come across as at least quiet and less opinionated - moreso than Te types to the outside observer at least.

·
MOTM July 2012
8,033 Posts
i know what you mean. i hope you don't feel bad about it, though, that just means they think you are a gentle person, which isn't a bad thing at all. :)