Personality Cafe banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3,421 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys.

After I got my psych degree, I really don't know if I want to go into grad school and all. Though I like the human interaction (one on one mostly because I'm quite introverted and would feel very uncomfortable giving talks in front of a class, etc) which therapy provides, I don't think I can handle hearing people's problems all day long. I also have a bit of a creative side to myself (writing poetry, etc). I am decent in math which you probably need to be to do computer science. The only thing that worries me is that I don't think very fast and I've seen these people typing away like machines and I'm like I don't know if I can do that all day....

Any of you guys do computers? How you finding it? Can you be creative? Do you get bored?

I know the money is good...or better than a therapist let's say, and for sure better than a poet!!

I figure if I go that route, I could work four days a week, make enough money not to worry about the bills, and spend the rest of the time doing more creative things. Of course, maybe the job can really provide that, and maybe I can work on a website, providing some psych info or something as a hobby. I don't know...I'm just daydreaming as I always do. Or I could volunteer that day....

Any help would be so very appreciated.

Peace. :)

·
Registered
3,421 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I guess none. :unsure:

·
MOTM Dec 2012
12,239 Posts
I spend about a year doing computers, sitting in a cubicle. Money was good but I quit when I realized I couldn't be cooped up in a cold, impersonal environment. Now, years after leaving the company, I'm hearing many people left the company or got laid off in the worst recession in US history.

·
Registered
112 Posts