Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
652 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Whatever my type, somehow I'm sure that I am not good with Ni. But I need it very much.
:crying:

Do you, Ni doms or tertiary Ni-s, have tips and tricks how to stir it from its sleep, fuel and use it?

As, I said already, I really really need it.

·
Registered
18,510 Posts
Why do you need Ni?

For one, I think it helps viewing each function more as glasses of different colors you can wear and they will somewhat alter the way you see the world. We can also prefer some pair of glasses over the others because it's comfortable. That would be the dominant. Outside of the dominant, we might utilize an auxiliary and a tertiary, but I wouldn't place as much emphasis on relevance on them as literature tends to.

So when it comes to trying to learn or understand a perspective outside of those you are comfortable with, I don't think it serves much of a purpose. Let's say you are an Si type and the question becomes why you should Ni when you can Si and arrive at similar conclusions?

As a brief description of Ni, the way I think of Ni is that it allows me to see meaning, reason, purpose, intent beyond the immediate sense-impressions. It allows me to delve into and connect to deeper ideas so I can understand something's fundamental nature of being. Ways to exercise this kind of intuition is to study objects and people around you and ask yourself questions such as, "What does this mean?" Let's take that you see a man in a suit. Ni cognition would immediately think of what the suit means or represents. He's a businessman, he's a man of greater economic wealth, he's dressed for a formal occasion such as job or a social institution. It all formulates an idea of who the man is based on the clothes he's wearing.