Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
459 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Help.

INTJ, female, old enough to know better.....I've been a successful freelancer but now I have a boss. No, it's even better than that: I have TWO bosses, each at different organizations I do some work for. Both of these guys are about 15 years older than me, and want to 'help' me. One is a misogynist ISFP (I've known him for years, this is plain as day). The other I'm not sure about, but colleagues say he likes to micromanage. Both of these guys fairly suck at what I do.

This week, both of them indicated they wanted to meet to give me feedback. They want to 'help' me improve.

Sigh....

Background: I work in a highly creative field, and there is absolutely no one right way to do my job. Additionally, my end-users are extremely satisfied with my work methods. So, if either of these guys is hell-bent on telling me how I need to do my job, it's a problem inside him. My job is a leadership role, and I spend hours upon hours studying/learning/seeking how best to do it. I have a short list of teachers who I can call upon to help me when I can't figure out something on my own, and these teachers are well-known in my field. Neither of my bosses could even remotely hold a candle to any of them.

I think they both want to coach and mentor me. Be my teacher. Whatever.

What I'd love to do is give both of these guys a classic INTJ withering glare and explain that they are in no position to mentor me.

The truth I know: a wise person can learn something from everyone.
Another truth: I won't succeed in my career by bitch-slapping every idiot male who tries to teach me.

I need a little wisdom here, folks. Tips, tricks on how you keep your mouth shut in the face of stupid people? This field is ridiculously male-dominated. How can I be gracious and seem 'open to new ideas and collaboration' without giving them the pleasure of seeing me as 'the cute little woman playing at what we do'?

·