Personality Cafe banner

I am a horrible student. Please help.

1923 Views 12 Replies 10 Participants Last post by  sonicdrink
Yeah, so here's the deal. I am an ENTP, and we tend to be procrastinators. Well, I'm just bad with schoolwork in general.

Details:
2nd grade - was ahead of my class, so I did nothing all year but eat ice cream
4th grade - actually had to do work, had 15 or so late papers at a time
High School - barely did any homework, and still got a 3.5 b/c I'm good at tests.

Here's the problem: Now I'm in college and it actually matters to do your homework. (well, it's my 2nd year, but my first year was at my comm college so I breezed through that no problem) I just can't sit down, open my books and spirals, and actually do the work.

Now a lot of you would say, just put some limits on yourself, dedicate a time slot, set an alarm to do it, blabity blah, and generally, I can do the work every once in a while. However, it is just really really hard to get down to it.

Let me tell you, when I really do like something (or am getting paid for it) I really do try at least 89% . I became a manager in less than 2 years and became the best seller (besides my boss) the place had ever had. (I'm not just bragging, everyone said this, even the ex-owner). I'm very good at absorbing new information and do a good job applying it. I'm working on a poetry book and am having a really good habit keeping at it. I did my own research for a book critique, take notes, and am also writing a manuscript for that. I am learning how to fence and giving it my best. I learn skills very quickly and can apply them (I like to learn martial arts.)

HOWEVER

I simply can't do the menial little things that would only take 30 or less min to do that's worth cumulatively 20% of the grade.