Personality Cafe banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1,728 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
People accuse me all the time of being too general and that my ideas lack evidence to prove that they are valid or correct.

But what they fail to realize is that, while having evidence and a convincing argument is completely valid, it is not the only method for instilling a new idea into someone else and having them accept it.

When people criticize me for not having evidence or being too vague and general with my ideas, they're basically saying that I am a bad salesman of ideas.

And they're right, I am a bad salesman.

After all, look at what a salesman does.

He goes door to door, offering his product to people one by one while rambling off a list of valid reasons why the person should buy it.

And then the person has to decide whether to buy it or decline it.

but I'm not trying to be a salesman.

I do not expect people to respond positively or immediately to what I have to say.

Of course, not everyone responds positively to vauge statements that lack evidence or proof, and that's understandable.

I could care less.

If I were to provide evidence for my ideas and opinions to prove that they were true, that would imply that I wanted to ensure that my ideas have a greater chance of being accepted by people.

but that isn't a goal of mine, I don't know what's best for each individual person so I'm not going to force them to believe something I believe.

I know what has been best for me in the past and I have educated guesses as to what will be best for me in the future

I can only assume that what has been best for me could potentially also be what's best for someone else, whoever that may be.

I say my ideas for whoever will listen.

I don't care if I actually make an impact in the world, all I care about is that I at least tried.

And even if I don't make a difference, it's still good for me to say my thoughts out loud.

There really is no downside for me.