Personality Cafe banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was forced into a situation at work where I had to confront a disruptive customer who kept asking for a discount saying God told him he could get an item at a cheaper price, thing is this guy actually believed it, he wasn't trolling.

He was super weird but I kept telling him no, then I had to resort to threatening to call the police.

God, I HATE confrontation! I'm so bad at it. My voice was shaky, my hands were shaking, I felt like a little chiwawa confronting a bull dog. I'm just not built for confrontation....

Just looking for sympathy and curious if any other INFJ is cool with confrontation or not..... :(

·
Registered
748 Posts
what an awful situation, I'm sorry that happened for you.

Don't all people hate confrontation? - well I do.. And I'm not good at it. So it is not just you..

·
Registered
8,949 Posts
I believe (this is entirely based off the patterns I see in people, so not backed up by anything, unless I've never seen the research) it has to do with perceived personal value.

A common pattern I see in people who truly feel uncomfortable with confrontation--the people who refuse to send food back, even if it's not good--is that they are more than willing to do it for other people.

A personal example. I went to a club for the first time a couple of weeks ago with a date. We were watching a drag show, and everyone around us was drunk and trying to push their way to the front. A lot of pushing. Someone pushed into me, and I just kind of shrugged it off, and let them pass. Someone pushed into my date, and I got really pissed and would physically move in the way to block them from messing with my date.