Personality Cafe banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
3,053 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, guys. This is usually quite uncomfortable for me, but I'm just going to reveal some personal details, mainly academic-related, about myself. I hope that there is no heckling or other negative behavior on this thread, but I trust that wouldn't happen since you guys tend to be very mature in your mannerisms.

I'm currently in my third year of college and am doing a Public Relations / Pre-Medicine degree. I chose Public Relations for two reasons: It applies to my skills (I'm quite good at writing and oration) and it's a practical major that's in demand these days. In regards to my PR major, I think I'm succeeding with around 3.5+ for major GPA with one completed internship with a group called Clinica Verde (Clinica Verde) and one that I'm currently doing with my school's PR department. Furthermore, I also like my major since I do enjoy advertising / marketing / business work and it really showcases my skills in the professional world.

Tacked onto my major is a pre-med pre-professional. While I thought I can do this (my immediate and extended family are heavily invested in the medical field), I'm slowly realizing that I don't really have passion for the job. Furthermore, I am not exactly succeeding in the field since I'm only doing about average in the classes - something that's bringing my overall GPA down. To be quite frank, I'm sticking out with pre-med thus far due to two factors: my parents since they really invested a lot in me for such a career (I respect my parents greatly and would like to do my best for them) and that its a field that is both secure as well as profitable.