Personality Cafe banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8,949 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm kinda stuck in a choice.

I have two jobs that I can get, either with their own benefits and downsides.

First is Back Office Lead (HR)

Pro: I'd actually enjoy the work. I hire and train new employees. Perform general back office duties, like money management and office stock. And general store duties to fill in where needed. I have a psych degree, and ultimately I'd like to get the HR experience so I can apply for true HR jobs in the future. It's also much closer--maybe a 15-20 minute drive.

Con: Pay. It pays like 35k.

Second is Customer Service/Financial Advisor

Pro: Pay. It pays 44k and has amazing benefits. Pretty much it. I guess I 'might' be able to one day move into a HR position within the company, but from what I understand about HR, it's not easy.

Con: The work is soul sucking. Sit at a chair and answer phone calls about customer service and giving mild financial advice. No real goal with this position. Can't go up anywhere. It's also really far away. An hour each way. Which is 10 hours a week of just driving!

I'm a recent college grad. 35k is enough to pay my loans and stay afloat. Naturally 44k would allow me to start saving now and be comfortable.

---

If you were in the same boat, what would you probably do?

Reactions: hopebeat

·
Registered
3,157 Posts
Separate tip, I wouldn't list the company names and the exact positions - someone in the hiring process might be on PerC or stumble across it somehow, and it's usually best not to let people locate you like that.