Personality Cafe banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm having trouble discovering my type, that being said I'm rather open to my results, but I'd like to figure it out for both information and a little bit an emotional/ ego check. I have considered a couple different aspects of my situation and how those may affect my results. I'm a woman, a mother, in my late 20s, and was raised by sensing feelers.
I've been typed as an INTP and a 5 in my Enneagram.
I have a friend whose opinion I value (INTJ) who swears she believes I'm an ISFP or an INFP but with absolute certainty that I AM NOT an INTP.

I'm a recreational artist, I paint, sculpt, and do mixed media, I haven't ever found a medium I find difficult because usually I can make reasonable deductions of how to mold media to my will. In the past I didn't understand that not everyone could do this, I'm still often baffled but I know that technique can be taught but not intuition. After much consideration I think I can eliminate ISFP, what I described seems more of an NE artistic approach than an SE approach (correct me if I'm wrong).

So that leaves INFP or INTP.

I can enjoy conversations with "mom friends" though I will admit I pick up on the members of my group that have an extremely low tolerance of introspection or abstract conversation and I usually avoid them.
I can indulge the occasional small talk but I'm not sure what qualifies as small talk. We talk about weather, but we talk about affect weather can have on psyche. We talk about vaccinations and debate the ethical implications of not vaccinating and the actual validity of medical "professionals."
Is this still small talk?

I don't feel "cold" like most descriptions of INTPs, I do feel emotions don't have a place in difficult situations and when I do give counsel it's usually to tell my friends to stop being emotional and be rational. I don't think my friends like when I say that.