Personality Cafe banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
ENTP 2w1 sx/so
867 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
The relationship between an ENTP and INFJ is often considered one of the ideal romantic relationship combinations. Googling the partnership yields a plethora of results. Some of you may even be in such a relationship. The positive factors are too numerous to mention, but I am more interested in the potential challenges as I am new to such a relationship myself. Here is one such YouTube video that seems to suggest the relationship is all chocolates and roses:

In the video below, an INFJ woman says she struggled because she expected that her ENTP father would protect her with his extroverted sensing. In the end, she accepted that was his weakness and learned to accept him for his strengths. Despite this, she still struggles to relate to ENTP's. Of course, our type seems to have a love/hate relationship with everyone.

I have virtually nonexistent extroverted sensing and little introverted feeling. My partner has the same with her introverted sensing and extroverted thinking. What challenges do these bring, and what solutions have you found? Who takes responsibility for the here and now when both our heads are in the clouds? I suppose those in relationships with other "head in the cloud" intuitive types could also have experience with this issue.

·
Registered
INFJ 1w2, 2w1, 5w4 Sx/So
899 Posts
I think (open) communication is the key. This would mean actually taking the time for this communication and mutual listening.

·
Registered
ENTP 2w1 sx/so
867 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Our communication is exceeding my expectations. You know how you say something and realize it could be easily misunderstood and wish you hadn't said it? So far, my worries have been unfounded because everything has been understood exactly as I intended it. I have also found her easy to understand, though she keeps her thoughts more privately than I do.