Personality Cafe banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am an INFJ personality type looking for some advice about changing my major/career choice. I am majoring in Communications now, and I have an internship and an engineering company. I have 2 years left for my comm degree. I do not find the work meaning full or the classes intellectually fulfilling. Basically, I am bored beyond belief. The only thing is, in a few months I have been told that I will be editor of the college's paper, and I am a shoe-in for departmental achievement awards. I feel like these might be excellent tool to guide me after graduation.

However, I am considering switching my major to Classical Studies. I want to learn Latin and Greek so badly, and I find the material fascinating and challenging. I feel like it brings together a lot of the things I love--philosophy, culture, language, literature. The only thing is, my current school does not offer a Classics degree. I would have to take a semester off, apply elsewhere (which shouldn't be a problem because my grades are very good), and start over. I am just worried that this is too big of a gamble, and I've been told that what I major in doesn't really matter once I enter the job market.

Career goals that appeal to me right now are to teach either at the high school or college level, be a writer/journalist, maybe apply to law school, or work as a librarian/curator.

I would love a little advice.

Thanks,
Britta

·
Registered
4,347 Posts
Welcome to the site :D