Personality Cafe banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a college student and I chose to live with a random assortment of roommates this year. One of them is an INTP, and the rest including me are Feeling types (INFP, INFP, ISFJ). The INTP is very smart, but also has a tendency to be the devil's advocate or test the strength of statements that are just thrown out in casual conversation, leading to heated arguments often fueled by him only to arrive at a conclusion that wasn't so different than what was said initially.

Things like this have made him an eccentric figure to live with, and the other two roommates don't really understand him. They talk about him like he's a bit loose in the head, even though we all like him despite his faults. I'm an INFP, but I've taken tests where I've gotten INTP just because I've developed my Thinking function so much that some people familiar with Myers-Briggs are surprised that I am a Feeler (but us INFPs tend to keep our feelings reserved, so often I relate to others through impersonal ideas). Because of this, I can go toe-to-toe with him in an argument (though I'm less thorough in my thought process), and I can relate to him more and talk about the things he talks about. I guess that's just the INFP adaptability that allows me to do that.

But I understand his eccentricity, and I know that he's not weird, he just thinks very thoroughly and doesn't prioritize social norms. He will often make bad impressions because the way he says things and challenges others seems aggressive (and really is, but he doesn't see it that way). I'll get looks from other people when this happens, but later when they talk about it I feel obligated to explain his perspective.