Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
189 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm wondering what career you guys are in right now. I am working a job to pay the bills, but I havn't found a decent career yet. What are you doing? Or, what are you doing in school to get there?

·
Registered
105 Posts
Electronics assembler. Basically I build huge freon detection panels and mixer modules for Halliburton, through a contracted company. Definitely not what I want to do, but hours are good and pay is decent, kinda just fell into it.

·
Registered
2,835 Posts
Finding a career has been pretty difficult for me. I never enjoyed or applied myself at high school and when I left, the real world appeared to be almost equally bleak. None of the careers available seemed to really suit me. I ended up doing a stint as a librarian, I liked it, but eventually my contract ran out and I became unemployed. There aren't many jobs available for librarians so after a few months of extremely depressing unemployment a friend of mine suggested I go to university. For the last six months I have been studying a bachelor of arts and my current goal is to transfer to a psychology degree, eventually I would like to work with youth who suffer from psychological problems. I'm 25 at the moment so I think other INFP's should not be surprised if they are late bloomers.

·
Registered
1,761 Posts
i'm a brakeman in a scrap metal recycling yard.

not an especially infpish job, but i guess it pays the bills... well, some of them :dry:

·
Registered
23 Posts
I am an audit manager - i always worked for top firms and earn a big salary. People look at me and say I have had a great career - BUT, I spent nearly all of my time hating the tasks of the job - the only thing ever to get me through are nice boss/colleagues and counselling junior staff. I hate detail and I don't care about numbers - but the big salary makes life bearable.