Personality Cafe banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
507 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Any INFP teachers here? I'm considering going into teaching (I enjoy helping people understand things, seeing them achieve makes me feel like I've achieved plus education kind of shapes the rest of our lives ) but I'm undecided between teaching primary school or secondary school (I don't know what that equates to in america but that's up to age 11 in primary, secondary is 11-16). Anyone here a teacher who could shed some light on what you do/don't enjoy about teaching? Or anyone with any ideas on what the INFP skill set would be better suited to?

·
Registered
7,058 Posts
This autumn will be my second year of teaching. I got my masters in 2016. I teach elementary-aged students: 6th graders (who are usually in middle school) are ages 11-12. I had a similar motivation to you for getting into it; plus I worked as an assistant when I had no other job opportunities in a small town and really liked it. My wife has been teaching for 7 years now and got me into it. As a kid I was always curious about teaching.

What I like about teaching. Getting those 'a-ha' moments out of kids, the theraputic extroverted time (even if it exhausts me). The Ne-puzzle of relating subjects to kids of different academic backgrounds. Getting kids to enjoy academics. It's a Ne-heavy job, which I appreciate.

What I don't like. The BS surrounding teaching. Defiant kids. I can manage a classroom well enough, but ODD kids can be very annoying if they want to be. Organization.