Personality Cafe banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey all,
I've been hovering around these forums for a while and honestly, reading comments from people who so are similar to me is blessing, it truly warms my heart and brings me comfort, as an INFP in the real world. Even just discovering my type has been a blessing, I no longer feel like such an alien or so isolated, I can accept that it's just who I am and I love being me.

I'm a very closeted individual so this is all very new to me, but honestly I really need to get it off my chest and maybe get a response rather than mulling over things on my own.

Let me tell you a little about myself to put things into context. I'm a university student, I study a demanding degree and have high aspirations for myself. I've always been a high flyer as a kid and as the eldest child, always the responsible one with certain expectations held against me.

My peers see me as someone who has it all together, I do my own thing so they see me as self-confident, I enjoy dressing well and playing with makeup whatever time of day, I tend to have good relationships with people and those who only know of me seem to put me on a pedestal. I'm generally calm and a somewhat upright.

But the truth is I don't have it all together and I always feel like I'm grasping at straws. Just walking into a room of people I know causes anxiety, I am aware of every single step I take, I'm holding my breath, my mind is buzzing or numb as I walk up and smile and struggle to hold my composure. I chat away nonsensically but really I want to make for the exit, run home and hide under the covers trying to calm myself down.