Personality Cafe banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey INFPs,

I have a question to ask you. How are you when it comes to paying attention to detail? For example, I work in an office and one of the things I let myself down on is attention to detail, especially when inputting information into a database or putting together a written document. I'm not very good at noticing mistakes. What about you guys? Is this something you struggle with?

Thanks!

·
Banned
3,802 Posts
Yeah details are pretty much my weakness to say the least :/ I sometimes miss things that are right in front of my face. *Sigh* I really wish I could get out of my head and pay attention to what's in front of me

·
Registered
239 Posts
Fixing mistakes? Haha. I do a lot of mistakes when writing on computer. Then proofread like million times. And still it is not good enough. I used to be good at fixing them though...when I was a kid.

I also am more receptive to mistakes when they are written down on a paper rather than in computer.

·
Registered
7,779 Posts
With regard to tasks like you describe: yes I struggle, and the more repetitive and tedious the task the more I struggle with it. However, when it comes to something like writing, researching, or making a presentation, I am good with details. I am able to do detailed work—even excel at it—as long as it is connected with my interests and involves some variety.

·
Registered
260 Posts
There are some tasks that I do regularly and can focus on the details. It's like that is time when I can switch off my brain and take a break from the what-ifs. I wouldn't want to deal with details all the time, though.

·
Registered
951 Posts
Though I tick most of the boxes for an INFP personality, one area where I don't really seem to fall in to the INFP description is I am good at spotting mistakes/errors. I tend to work very cautiously and precisely and don't make too many errors myself. Any other INFP care to comment on this?