Personality Cafe banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
226 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I realize that there are probably already threads about this topic, but... I'll take a chance and visit it again?

I'm currently a freshman in college and I feel like I have no idea what I'm doing with my life, while everyone around me seems to have it all figured out. And, maybe for a few weeks/months at a time I'll commit to one path, only to change my mind completely once I start feeling trapped.
Yeah... "Trapped" this soon? I know. It sounds like an exaggeration or something but it's really not. I seriously just get to a point after "making up my mind" for so long where I just have this terrible anxiety over it.

I feel like it's sort of a struggle between what I want to do and what I know is realistic, but even then I'm not sure if I can commit to what is "realistic" because of the way that I am.

Specifically, I've been going back and forth between majoring in English and social work. I've always enjoyed reading and writing, and I have thought about going into publishing or teaching. Even though I know that publishing and academia are sort of difficult and competitive (which I am not), I just can't make myself give up on English.
But, helping people is also extremely important to me, and I want to feel like what I do matters, so social work is also a possibility. And I feel like it's the more "reliable" option of the two. Even still, I have doubts about whether or not I would succeed in the field because, while I want to help people in any way that I can and there are so many issues that are important to me that I would like to contribute to, I am definitely an introvert in the extreme, which is obviously a problem in a field where people/communication skills are key.