Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
226 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, tomorrow I have my first interview and I am extremely nervous. It's for a job as an assistant in the office of student activities at my college.

I was hoping to get some tips from other INFPs. I can't imagine interviews being something that INFPs really enjoy at all. So, how to you deal with that? What are some of your experiences with job interviews?

Additionally, I know that most employers are probably looking for more extroverted employees; so, how do you get around that or sell your introversion?

Thanks! :happy:

·
Registered
752 Posts
I went to and completed a job training program that also dealt with interviews, so I have some experience on the matter. ;O

First thing I will say is that there's NO WAY you'll ever be able to completely remove your anxiety. I'm sure you know this but I wanted to say anyway .___.

Second, as funny as it might be, I suggest taking deep breaths before the interview. Apparently there's a certain of doing this that helps to lower your anxiety but I never mastered it. .-. I think deep breaths in general will at least help.

Third, make sure that your posture isn't scrunched up. This used to be a big problem for me, my shoulders would always be higher than they should be, almost like I was cold. Anyway, just be aware of your posture and try to adjust it accordingly without being so tight...

Fourth, eye contact. It's important and such. Try not to daydream during the interview .-.

Ummm, I know tons more things besides the obvious, but I'll keep it simple: Be serious, be determined, and go in there knowing you'll get the job. Oh yeah, if you get a nice interviewer, then your chances skyrocket really high.