Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I apologize (who me?) if this has been discussed already... I am a newb to this forum and haven't found anything in depth about it thus far.

Generally, as an INFP, how do you feel about small talk?

I, for one, cannot stand it.. I am not good at it and I would go so far as to say I hate it. What about you? I feel like this is one of the main social problems I have. I cannot fake it. I am expected to engage in it and I simply can't.. I can fake a lot of social norms that I don't necessarily prescribe to, but this is definitely not one of them.

·
Registered
79 Posts
I fake it, badly. I've always felt small talk was pointless and never really bothered, but now I work customer service so I'm sorta forced to.

Reactions: Electric Feel

·
Registered
2,999 Posts
Hate it, I can do it, but usually I seem to miss the mark on it. When I was younger (5-9 years), I would start a conversation with questions like, "Do you believe in God?" or, "So, do you think life has meaning? If so, what is the meaning?" And my peers would be like, "...So, then my Pikachu evolved!" or "So, I got ANOTHER hairbrush! Hehehehe!" (depending on if they were male or female) The problem is, I don't feel interested in or even qualified to speak on most subjects. I know other people don't care if they are ignorant about things, but I actually really do.

·
Registered
2,999 Posts

·
Registered
299 Posts
Hearing people discuss cars, fashion or similar brain dead subjects make me want to blow my head off >.<

And being told by someone who they met this day, what funny things they saw, what clothes they are saving up for, gaaaaaaah.

Discussing politics, religion, music, games, psychology, people or similar, yes please.

These are pretty much the reasons I dislike family dinners.

Say something that at least is of SOME interest or please spare my ears (and sanity).