Personality Cafe banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I haven't found a thread about this so I figured I'll start one. Have you travelled somewhere for school or work, whether to do courses, an exchange, practicum, etc.? Where did you go? What did you do? What were your best and worst experiences? (You don't have to answer all of those, just throwing out topics :happy:).

Also: Did you learn anything about yourself?

·
Registered
33 Posts
Nice idea! Provides a way to exchange ideas about future travels as well as a way to share our experiences!

Past:
-I studied abroad in Accra, Ghana for four months. I learned about a deeper level of humanity that we tend to obscure in western culture. People there were so genuine there that it blew my mind. At the time I was suffering from a lot of anxiety which I would get only around Westerners, almost never around Ghanaians. I saw people who had nothing create a makeshift, informal "school" out of a concrete building because the kids there had nothing else. Saw a woman who lived in a refugee camp who made her home into an orphanage. On the other hand, people try to rip you off all the time, so I learned to watch my back and how to just say NO.

-I lived in an ashram in Quebec for four months two years ago, and recently for about six weeks. It was incredibly healing and beautiful. Tons of nature. Went through a lot of emotions because a lot of cleansing was going on, but felt the best bliss as well. :) It was also wonderful to live in a community...you never feel lonely there!