Personality Cafe banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
244 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I will be very blunt without trying to be modest because I need some real career advice. Talking to friends, family and career advisers are not helping. I need some real advice from INTJs who get me.

English is my second language. I graduated top of my class in an enormous public high school in the U.S. and made it to an Ivy League with no money or connections. Graduated honors from there in political science and didn't get into PhD programs, as planned. During college, I could not do unpaid internships to make job connections either, I was doing work-study. Then, I was offered two MAs from some top schools, unfunded. Turned those down and got a funded MA the next year. I took off law school as an option for funding issues too. Now I am thinking about applying for political science PhDs again, but the fact is that I do not want to teach. I want to have some real world political effect. Work in the UN or some international organization in Europe or Asia.

I thought about not doing a PhD and going for jobs instead, but I keep running into the issue of "who you know, not what you know." To date I have only been in menial assistant jobs that were not even in my field. This has gone on for three years now and I am frustrated. How is a young person to get experience if you even want the entry-level folks to have 5 years of experience? On my first menial job I even faced overt verbal racism. In one job interview I was asked if I wanted to go back to my Middle Eastern country (I am not Middle Eastern, I am just "of color"). I want to get a PhD so that I can be overqualified and break past the barriers I keep running into. Like a typical INTJ, I want to overcome issues with merit. It is quite naive.