Banned
339 Posts
Discussion Starter #3

·
Registered
473 Posts
Anyone studying philosophy?
Who is your favourite philosopher? Why?
I'm not an INTP, but I'll answer anyway because the topic is interesting.

I study philosophy, among other things. My favourite philosophers are:

1. Noam Chomsky.
2. Immanuel Kant.
3. Willard Quine.

Why? Chomsky has a superior understanding of the mind and of language. No better accounts have been given as far as I know. Kant offered the correct explanatory model for the origins of human knowledge. Quine brought the doctrine of empiricism to its ultimate conclusion. In doing so he inadvertently demonstrated why this doctrine is absurd and must be rejected, which is a great achievement.

·
Registered
104 Posts
I studied philosophy in college. David Hume is my favorite philosopher. I think it is because he is willing to reach conclusions he doesn't like. An unfortunate amount of people have a conclusion in mind when they start thinking, and then try to justify their conclusion. Hume lets the argument take him to the conclusion.

·
Registered
2,995 Posts
I studied philosophy heavily for a few years in my my late 20s to early 30s. Mostly classical, Plato, Aristotle, Socrates, Buddhists, to more modern philosophers like Nietzsche, Don Miguel Ruiz and even Deepak Chopra. My final conclusion was there was some truths in most of what they all said, but like us all, they have flaws in reasoning, blind spots, and have some sort of bias in their leanings. I feel wiser for having read them, but would not go all in with any them.

·
Registered
281 Posts
I'm a fickle lover and switch focus according to my current brand of existential crisis. Recently had a Heraclitus delve. Generally enjoy the Frankfurt Schule and phenomenology.