Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been wondering whether or not these traits are tied to personality type because I've heard from a few places online that speaking a mile a minute and tripping over words was more of a Te thing while pausing to think before speaking was more of a Ti thing. I'm not an expert, so I turn to those who are.

So, do any of you fellow INTPs think faster than you speak or speak faster than you think? In other words, do you talk to think or think to talk? I fall into the latter category because my mind can't keep up with my mouth, no matter how hard I try. :frustrating:

·
Registered
167 Posts
Ugh this annoys me to no end. I'll be thinking as I'm speaking and I'll just kind of stop in the middle of my word for like a second and then continue my sentence and I feel really self concious about it because it's hard for me to think and speak at the same time.

·
Registered
4,199 Posts
Depends on the subject, no? I've been told I talk very quickly, but sometimes I feel like I still can't articulate the point cogently enough, even if I'm talking so fast my words are barely intelligible. This happens when the discussion is centered around something of interest to me that I've spent a lot of time pondering in my free time. Other times, like.. when making small talk, my brain becomes the bottleneck, which is always frustrating.

·
Registered
1,175 Posts
Ugh this annoys me to no end. I'll be thinking as I'm speaking and I'll just kind of stop in the middle of my word for like a second and then continue my sentence and I feel really self concious about it because it's hard for me to think and speak at the same time.
that doesn't happen to me.

I speak without stop just like i have prepared before.

I don't know myself though.

·
Registered
167 Posts
that doesn't happen to me.

I speak without stop just like i have prepared before.

I don't know myself though.