Personality Cafe banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've always wanted to be a programmer and self-taught several languages starting at 15 years old. After going to college I would feel kinda stupid because I would ask questions and they would look at me like I was dumb. I ended up leaving college though. Looking back I think it came down to raw intelligence I recently took an IQ test and got like 114 and realized I have a really low raw intelligence. This is probably why it's hard for me to grasp certain complex concepts. Maybe it's the way it's taught I dunno. I wanna know one person who was a successful programmer that didn't have an IQ above 120.

I'm probably gonna get a lecture how IQ is not every thing. I do realize personality and creativity come into play. But raw intelligence does play a factor into it. You don't see rocket scientists with an IQ of 90.

What are your thoughts?

·
Registered
545 Posts
Was it an official IQ test from mensa or whatever? I always score 140+ on those fake ones on the internet all the time, because it's basic pattern matching and I'm good at that. I'm not an intelligent person and would probably do awful on a real IQ test.

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Was it an official IQ test from mensa or whatever? I always score 140+ on those fake ones on the internet all the time, because it's basic pattern matching and I'm good at that. I'm not an intelligent person and would probably do awful on a real IQ test.