Personality Cafe banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings, fellow ISTP citizens. So recently, after taking the MBTI test several times, it is apparent that I am one of you guys, so howdy howdy :perc2: First post btw!

So, to cut to the chase, I'm in my fourth year of college, with one year left to graduate. I was originally in the business school at my university, but then, towards the end of my junior year, I experienced a total existential crisis where I questioned my belonging there after realizing I had no interest in any of the majors offered there, so I rather abruptly decided to switch to Chinese studies because of my background and my interest in the language and culture. Because why keep on doing something that you hate if you can just get really good at something you like and get paid for it, right? Following that decision, I figured my gameplan would be to try to get into a graduate program after finishing undergrad, where I would either train to be a translator or teach Chinese/history, and then I'd see where that would take me.

Unfortunately, I'm now having another existential crisis about my future. Woohoo.

You see, because the Chinese studies program is considered a liberal arts major at my school, as a liberal arts student, I'm required to take another major, minor, or write a senior thesis in order to graduate. Since switching to Chinese from business, I thought I would choose history as my second major in order to fulfill my graduation requirements. But now, I'm completely second-guessing how much of a fit I'd be as a grad student doing Chinese/translating/history/whatever-the-hell-it-is-but-i'll-figure-it-out-by-the-time-I-graduate.