Personality Cafe banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
749 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So as an INTP Si is my tertiary function, and last night as I was a bit tipsy and I began listening to a lot of songs that I listened to a bunch my freshman year in college, which is probably the favorite time in my life because it was when I came out of my shell and was just astounded by the reception and appreciation I got from people. So when I hear those songs now having a graduated and started on a career it just takes me back to that time so powerfully and I experience an emotion I'd almost call grief, like I'm grieving for those times knowing their gone forever, and it's such a bittersweet thing having them as memories but knowing they won't ever be that vivacious again. Is my Si to blame for this?

·
Registered
1,131 Posts
Well, your Si is your tertiary, which is also called the child function, so that makes sense... I'm no expert on Si, but it sure sounds like Si to me. And like the tertiary... :happy:

add: OK, I see I was way too brief... The Child function could be considered the function that a person retreats into in order to temporarily let go of all responsibilities, sort of like your inner child... So it has nothing to do with memories per se. That part is your Si. Hope that makes more sense...

·
Registered
393 Posts
The funny thing is that when I saw this thread, my first thought was "I bet this is an INTP." :tongue:

That sounds a lot like Si to me. Si tends to want to bring old sensations along with new ones.

The more interesting question to me is why you're feeling this so strongly. Typically, you tend to use your tertiary function more as a defense mechanism against your inferior function (Fe in your case) than anything else. That's not to say that there's anything wrong with using your tertiary function. You just have to be careful with it. Usually, when it just "sneaks in" as you describe, it's the wrong way to handle a situation.