Personality Cafe banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just recently discovered my passion for psychology, I love the 16 types MBTI test, I've looked into socionics a bit, but not the enneagram yet. I'm very new to the field, so I'm very lost but excited. So, I mean absolutely no offense to anyone, but could someone tell me:

Is the Enneagram based in science, and only relates to that? Or is this one of the new age sort of thing? (Kinda curious about socionics too, if someone could answer for both I'd really appreciate it)

I haven't heard much about these tests, but I prefer to stay clear of the new age stuff due to my own personal beliefs.

:) any help would be super appreciated!

·
Queen of Hearts
17,939 Posts
Well...imo it depends on how you approach it.

Don't think the Enneagram is strictly based on science, more of a speculative theory

I'm not sure what the parameters of being New Age are, personally it's something I avoid and Enneagram can veer uncomfortably close but to me it depends...supposedly it is a spiritual system but to me it is more interesting as a personality classification tool, has some useful insights as well and seems accurate, in my experience and is interesting way of looking at things. And actually I know the Vatican at least does consider it new-age and has warned against (using it for spiritual growth), not familiar otherwise.

Socionics I don't think anyone would consider New Age at all and is based on behaviours. Not sure how scientific it is.

·
Registered
1,742 Posts
Is the Enneagram based in science, and only relates to that? Or is this one of the new age sort of thing?