Personality Cafe banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
THE IRON GIANT
10,129 Posts
So I'm 19 and have been depressed for about two years now. I'm very much an ISFP and was wondering if depression is more common among us.

Discuss.
I'm not a doctor so cannot talk about clinical depression, but I would think any Fi dom might be pretty susceptible to depression in the more commonly used sense for a number of reasons. Young Fi users in particular can find their personal values so closely attached to their value as a person that anything they encounter that conflicts with their values can be felt as an insult or even a physical attack. It can take a lot of time and experience and focus to grow past that and be able to feel stronger in the face of such things.

I wish you the best of luck with this.

·
Registered
864 Posts
I was depressed for one year when I was 16. I wouldn't say I fell into that easily. My first breakup was very sudden and traumatic. We are sensitive, so anything that could deal a heavy blow to our feelings can put us into depression. It doesn't heal easily either. I had someone who helped me go through all of that mess. I do not know about you. Does your family know about this?

·
Registered
751 Posts
I have not been clinically diagnosed with depression, but of course I know depression. Like most ISFPs, it usually comes upon me suddenly and intensely, and then disappears just as quickly. The months after I got rejected from the girl I desperately fancied at school was probably the longest period of depression I've had, which would just come back and intensify regularly as I would see her in school each day. Yet that was my last year of school and I was forced to be productive, and I consider myself lucky to have done well enough to do what I'm doing now.