Personality Cafe banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone! I’m new here and I am desperate for some guidance. =(

I am a 26 year old female ISTJ, and since graduating with my B.S. in Computer Science two years ago, I have been working as a software engineer. Numerous career counselors have administered career aptitude and personalitytests to me over the years – all of which mostly tell me I should be working with computers. However, I’m miserable at my job. I’m surrounded with people and I have to work side by side with people all day long – something that makes me very unhappy. As ISTJs, we know that we would prefer not to be around people, and this is something I struggle with daily. Additionally, I’m not a problem solver. I do this constantly at work and I hate it. Engineering is NOT an ISTJ career!!!

Additionally, I always have had a deep passion for animals. I love to learn about them, be around them, and try to figure them out. I feel a special bond with them, which, as I have gathered from my readings on here, is common for ISTJs. I can’t go through life without embarking on an animal-related career. I just don’t know what to do! I definitely know that I don’t want to be in a medical scenario or any situation where animals are in pain and/or dying.

Are there any ISTJs out there with animal-career experience? Does anybody have any advice for me?

Thanks in advance to anyone who responds!I really, REALLY appreciate it.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I definitely wouldn't be opposed to going back to school - especially if I could do it online. I wouldn't be interested in anything in the medical field because (1) I'm squeamish and (2) I couldn't deal with animals dying/bring in pain all day - I'd be a basket case!!!

·
MOTM Feb 2012
ISTJ 9w1
7,167 Posts
Huh, well that's unfortunate. I'm about to graduate with a Master's degree in biomedical engineering. :shocked: I hope I'm not miserable in my future jobs.