Personality Cafe banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm a newbie here, decided to ask fellow ISTPs if they have similar issues. I moved to the United States 5 years ago, all of my family and a lot of my friends are in Russia. I feel that its very difficult for me to keep in touch, especially on the phone. Its like out of sight, out of mind... My mum, who is an INFJ, gets really hurt when I don't call at least once a week, but I just don't have a need for it! Does anyone have sthe same problem? How do you guys keep in touch with your long distance close people?

·
Registered
247 Posts
There's only one person I keep in touch with long distance, and she's my closest friend. We talk almost every morning on the phone - we're both wedding photographers, and we're both divorced and dating, so we tend to have a lot to discuss, and we've known one another for many years - there's always a story.

I talk to my mother maybe once every three to six months.

My sister, perhaps every other month, if that. And it's a struggle for me to keep up that frequency - she and I are so dissimilar that conversation is stilted and uncomfortable.

Everyone else, I've basically let go. It isn't so much "out of sight out of mind" for me, though. I just don't have the energy to invest in weekly or monthly check-in phone calls, particularly with people who require more frequent contact. You know, there really isn't anything to SAY to most people on a weekly basis. Even when I have news from my life, there's really only one or two people I care to tell the story to. I fucking hate repeating myself.