Personality Cafe banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everybody
I have just graduated and can't seem to find any job that is related to what I studied in college (Economics and Political Economy). All the jobs that are offered are either sales or customer service, and both are not a real preference for me and unenjoyable for me (INTP). I want to have a job that have a positive difference on society, where I can apply what I have learned in college. I want to work as a researcher or something related to the government.

Problem here is that I screwed up badly in college and graduated with a very low GPA (2.75) and it seems that no organization will hire me in my field. I also want to make graduate studies in Europe where college is really cheap there.

So fellow economist any help or advice on how to land a job in the economics field or making graduate studies in Europe ?
Thanks in advanced.

·
Registered
313 Posts
Whilst I am not a terminal degree holder(soon enough though), here is some wisdom.

First things first is to really be be adamant that you want to land a job in researching. Due to the lack of 3.0+ GPA, you will undoubtedly(as you noted) be pushed off into the rejection pile. I do believe a good course of action will be to take community college courses to raise that gpa as much as possible(lets say, for a year or so). That way a 3.8-4.0 gpa for 24-30 credits will show hr managers/admission committees that you are now serious about an advanced study.