Personality Cafe banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
305 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As the title suggests, I'm interested to know what peoples experiences are on language study.

I've recently been told that the ENFP MBT is very well suited to language study (perhaps even the best) due to being people focused, intuitive in information processing, and having open ended goals and learning (languages can take a lifetime to become fluent in).

I'm currently studying Chinese Mandarin (here in China) for about 30 hours each week. I don't find myself to be a natural at it, but I find that techniques such as flash cards or using the language in the marketplace to be helpful.

I'm strongly kinesthetic/visual in learning style.

So how many of you have learnt other languages? What techniques did you find helpful, especially for the ISTP's?

·
Registered
1,486 Posts
I haven't learnt other languages although I know a little bit of some.

I think learning songs is good since it's easier to remember the tune which comes along with the words. And hearing something being said while reading it and then repeating it over and over or writing it down helps to stick it in the brain.

Reactions: ontic

·
MOTM Jan 2012
6,514 Posts
I know some German. I break down the grammar first, learn the system; use it as a map. Once you have the map, the rest is just experiencing, exploring, and discovering. I took a little Spanish, and the only thing I remember off the top of my head is some random grammatical construction. Ask me to apply that grammatical construction into a sentence, it might give me a pause.

Reactions: ontic

·
Registered
1,365 Posts
when i was in highschool i could speak : english, german, russian, finnish, estonian and a bit of swedish. I could understand latin, italian, danish and greek aswell but not good enough to speak it. Now... i can only speak english, german, estonian and finnish.